Semi Final Bloemfontein SACEE 2013

De Beers 2014 English Olympiad Winner celebrates!

Samuel Musker of Redhill College who was announced the winner of the 2014 De Beers English Olympiad at the prize-giving ceremony held in Grahamstown on 17 July. 2014.

Some of the top 15 winners of the 2014 English Olympiad

Back Row: Pierre du Randt 5th (Victoria Park) Glanluca Truda 7th (Michaelhouse), Izana Zaaiman 13th (Afrikaanse Hoër Meisieskool.Pretoria), Mia McCarthy 6th (Maris Stella)
Middle Row: Heinrich Cox 15th (Woodridge College), Karina de Kock 10th (Pretoria High School for Girls), Tasneem Kathrada 14th (St John’s College), Thalia Rogers 12th (St Mary’s School Waverley), Taryn Benade 8th (Victoria Park High School)
Front Row: Nicholas Cullinan 2nd (Bishops), Tsepo Monaledi (De Beers), Samuel Musker 1st (Redhill College), Caleb Diamini (TSI De Beers)
Not in picture: Rahul Naidoo 3rd, Mikhail Kolabhai 4th, Lauren Southwick 9th and Julia Jellama-Butler 11th.


Launch of English Alive, 20 August 2014. Tania van der Schyff (Westerford High School) reading her piece Beast

Launch of English Alive 2014. Shakil Solanki (Contributor), Robin Malan (English Alive, editor) and Aneeb Hendricks (Contributor)


Eastern Cape Branch – Phakamani Creative writing project. Mzi Mahola reading poetry to learners at Lushington.

Eastern Cape Branch – The Lushington reading programme. Some of the learners with books that were donated by the Alexander Road High School and other concerned members of the community.


2014 W Cape Branch’s reading programme. Grade 1 pupils from Factreton Primary School pictured in the school library. With them are – Merilyn Dewer, Factreton Headmaster Saul Issacs, June Fourie and Bromyn Norman. The ‘Rambling Readers’ helped to set up the library at the school.

Wester Cape branch’s reading programme 2011

Western Cape Branch – Reading programme 2011
Readers from Grade 3 of Factreton Primary School in September 2011. Right and centre: Cameron Smith, who was the winner of the Grade 3 reading competition. The competition was organised for SACEE by Delia Scott and their teacher Mrs Vivienne Erasmus.

Pictured above: September 2011. The prize-winners from Grade 3 Factreton Primary School waiting to go to the ‘Help the Rural child’ bookshop to use their book token prizes. With them are Mr Saul Issacs (Principal) Mrs Vivienne Erasmus (teacher) and Jeanne, Fay and Kate (three of the volunteer readers)