Address P O Box 90556, Bertsham, 2013
Contact Person Miss Annastella Papageorgiou
Tel Number 011 680 5834
Mobile No  
Email astellapapag@gmail.com

Original Writing Competition for Primary School Learners 2017

This year the Junior Original Writing Competition for Primary Schools was led by Miss Annastella Papageorgiou from Mondeor Primary School. She was assisted by Mrs. Robin Nell, Mrs. Gill Callan, Mrs. Heather Tutton, Mrs. Paula De Oliviera, Miss Talita Bedessy and the Miss Earth S.A. Team.  

 Two hundred and eighty seven individual pieces of writing were submitted by 15 schools. All entrants received a certificate of: participation, merit, runner-up or winner.

 The floating trophy in memory of Mrs. Beverly Liebenberg was awarded to the school with the most winning pieces (King David Primary School, Linksfield) and a trophy recording the top five schools was presented to the runner-up school in honour of Dr. Richard Haywood a founder of this particular competition (Parkniew Senior). The winning pieces were read by: Mr. Digby Ricci, Dr. Richard Haywood, Miss Talita Bedessy, Mrs Karen Elgar, Dr. Mark Leite and Ella-Bella from Generation Earth. Some of the awards were presented by Irini Moutzouris (Miss Earth South Africa 2017). Mr. Digby Ricci was our guest speaker and he made some valid and valuable points about poetry writing.

In order to promote writing throughout primary schools, winning slots have been allocated: one overall winner per grade, four winners for Grade 3, four winners for Grade 4, five winners for grade 5, six for Grade 6 and seven for Grade 7. However, these may vary according to the adjudicator/s. The winning pieces are allocated points according to their level of achievement three points for an overall win, two points for the winner slot and one point for each runner-up. The merit and participation awards are not allocated points. Each school is allowed to submit 30 entries at R10 per entry. If disadvantaged schools cannot afford to pay the fee, this monetary amount is waved.

 On receipt of entries, a control number is allocated to each school. The Grade 7 entries were then submitted for judging to Mrs. Robin Nell.

 The competition was sponsored by Reader’s Warehouse, The Miss Earth South Africa Programme, Mondeor Primary, The Oprah Winfrey Leadership Academy for Girls, The Glen Shopping Centre and Generation Earth.


  • Top Five Schools
    1. King David Primary School, Linksfield
    2. Parkview Senior School
    3. Auckland Park Preparatory School
    4. Roedean School, Pridwin Primary School  
    5. St Mary’s School, Waverley